All Night Chanting Ceremony 2018 at Jethavana Buddhist Vihara, Birmingham

Press Release

Annual All Night Chanting Ceremony 2018 at Jethavana Buddhist Vihara, Birmingham organised by Most Ven. Keppetiyagoda Gunawansa Maha Thera and residents monks and devotees of the temple was held successfully with a large gathering at the temple premises throughout the night of the 16th of June 2018 commemorating the arrival of Buddhism to Sri Lanka and also to bless whole beings and transfer merits to departed devotees.

This year Paritta Chanting was sponsored by Dr. Nalaka Fonseka & family and Dr. Dharshana Weerasena & family. Breakfast dana was offered to monks by all devotees of the temple.

The programme commenced with the lighting of the traditional lamp by the representative of High Commissioner for Sri Lanka in the United Kingdom, Mr. Manoj Warnapala, other distinguished guests and devotees.

Following monks from different Buddhist Viharas around the UK, Europe, and Sri Lanka participated to the Paritta Chanting. Most Ven. Nandagamuwe Wijayamaithri Nayaka Thero, Deputy general Scretary of Sri Lanka Ramanna Maha Nikaya, The main adviser for Piriven unit in ministry of Education and the chief incumbent of monks training centre of Miniwangoda, Ven. Pidiville Piyathissa Thero, Chief incumbent for Kethumathi Buddhist Vihara and Leeds Buddhist Vihara, Ven. Galpothyaye Pemananda Thera from Manchester Kethumathi Buddhist Vihara, Ven. Kaluaggala Saranasiri Thero of Leeds Buddhist vihara, Dr. Ven. Kabalewe Sirisumana Thero, The chief incumbent of Barking Buddha vihara, Ven. Thawalama Bandula Thera and Ven. Kassapa Thera of London Buddhist Vihara. Ven. Dombawela Amitha Thero of Thames Buddhist Vihara, Ven. Theldeniyaye Amitha Thero, The Chief incumbent of Nottingham Shanthi viharaya, Ven. Anamaduwe Wimalajewa Thero and Nepale Suwacha thero from Nottingham Shanti Vihara. Dr. Ven. Singapore Sumanasiri from Singapore, Ven. Nepale Sumana Thero and ven. Galayaye Dhammadassi of Saddhatissa International Buddhist Centre, Kingsbury, Ven. Peiwatte Dhammananda thero, Chief incumbent of Bristol Buddhist Vihara. Leaster Dharmashoka Viharaya Ven. Aparake Dhammananda Thero, Cambridge Buddhist Viharaya,Ven. Matugama Palitha Thero Ven. Akurala Samitha Thero, chief incumbent of Letchworth Dhamma Nikethanaya Buddhist Centre. Ven. Wanduramba Kassapa Thero, Chief incumbent of Heathrow Athila dassana temple, Ven. Madugalle Mahanama Thero and ven. Nawelagama Amithadassana thero of Plaistow Sri Sambodhi Viharaya. Ven.Thissapura Sugatharathana Thero of Liverpool Sri Sambuddha Viharaya. Ven. Kannemahara Piyasiri Thero from Germany. Ven. Suriyawewa Kusala thera of Lechworth Buddhist Centre, Ven. Witharandeniye Sarada thero from Sri Lanka, Ven. Mapalagama Soratha Thero, and Resident monks of Jethavana Buddhist Vihara assisted to the success of the event.